Saturday, July 27, 2019

Book Review: Iberian Ties by Quintin Vargas

IBERIAN TIES
by
Quintin Vargas
Genre: Crime Fiction / Mystery / Suspense International Thriller 
Publisher: Vanguard Publishers
Date of Publication: May 13, 2019
Number of Pages: 405
Scroll down for giveaway!



Without a motive, how do you catch a killer? A gripping thriller in the vein of Harlan Coben, Paula Hawkins, and Lee Child. A rising star psychiatrist, American Nate Shelley is in Spain’s Canary Islands, making his world debut at a convention. But after delivering his keynote address, he and his fiancĂ©e Miro are arrested for murder. Nate knows he’s not guilty, but is his future wife involved in some way in the crime? Miro’s directly implicated when the murder victim is identified as her stalker. Is Nate’s career ruined? Is he facing life imprisonment? Does the American couple stand a chance of convincing the Spanish authorities—and Interpol—that they’re innocent? Not in a post-Brexit, anti-Trump European environment. Racing to clear their names, Nate and Miro will soon be embroiled in sham investigations, powerful cartels, and family secrets finally coming to light. Full of intrigue, this gritty international crime novel is a thrilling ride.
CLICK TO PURCHASE
                                                            

PRAISE FOR IBERIAN TIES:
“Brilliant thriller! I totally loved and enjoyed this book!! Interesting twists and turns, well-developed characters and suspense all along the way. Definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. Can't wait for the next book!” –Gaby M., Goodreads Review
“This was an education about cultures and history as well as an unpredictable mystery.” –Robert R., Amazon Review





Iberian Ties is a twisty thriller where our main characters, Nate and Miro, are trying to find out the mystery of Miro's crazy stalker.  All along the way, we meet characters who help unfold the truth and make us second guess who we think the real killer is. Quintin Vargas does a great job at keeping the killer a secret and giving each character their spot for the audience to further investigate.

Having the story set in the Canary Islands is something different and one that I enjoyed. I've been currently reading books that take place outside the U.S. and it's just fascinating. It really takes you out of what you're used to and gets you to look up where your characters are and envision a whole different place in the world.

I also really enjoyed the plot of this story. It felt very much like a CSI episode and any mystery thriller buff would enjoy. I do think, however, there were times when the plot kind of slowed down. By this I mean there were some points where the dialogue felt longer than it should have been. It doesn't take away from the book overall and it's not too frequent not to enjoy this story. 

"He smiled widely with a practiced smirk, but it was a smile nonetheless."

There's also this ongoing mention of the 2016 U.S. presidential election. I'm not sure if it was necessary and I was hoping it would tie in the end, but I just did not see the connection. It could have flown over my head though, so if you read it, maybe you could find the connection better than I did. 

Overall, I give this book 4 stars out of 5. It's a great murder mystery story and even though there are some slow parts, it's not long before the book has you hooked in once again. Read below on how you could win your free copy today! Until next time, Happy Reading!






Iberian Ties is the first work of fiction published by Quintin Vargas. In addition to being an author, he combined a career as professor and dean in various American universities with becoming owner of a firm that prepared new immigrants to enter the marketplace and international workforce. His work impacted leadership development for various domestic and international private industries, non-profit organizations, and higher education.

As an academic, he served as dean and provost at various universities, including DePaul University in Chicago, the University of Texas, San Antonio, and St. Edward’s University. His academic writings have been highlighted in various publications, including the Journal of Research and Development in Education, the National Commission on Testing and Public Policy, and the Journal of Thought
He and his wife, Marty, have five children and thirteen grandchildren. They reside in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.
-----------------------------------------
GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!  GIVEAWAY!
Three Winners: Choice of Signed Print or eBook Copy
July 23-August 2, 2019
CHECK OUT THE OTHER GREAT BLOGS ON THE TOUR:
7/23/19
Notable Quotable
7/23/19
BONUS Post
7/24/19
Excerpt
7/25/19
Review
7/26/19
Guest Post
7/27/19
Author Interview
7/28/19
Review
7/29/19
Top 15 List
7/30/19
Scrapbook Page
7/31/19
Review
8/1/19
Review
   blog tour services provided by